An Auspicious Start


Mr. and Mrs. Bulin with nieces and nephews

The Best Day of My Life

For years I have talked about starting my own blog.  I enjoyed writing and reading others’ blogs but couldn’t put my thumb on what I wanted to write about.  Should I confine it to a gaming blog, or a book review blog, or should it be a creative writing blog for portfolio building?  So, for years, I left it alone.

Six years ago today I got married.  My husband has always told me to go for it.  Doesn’t matter what “it” is, he just believes that I am capable of doing anything on which I set my sights.  I had to finish my Associate’s degree to get a job, and he never balked at spending the money.  He constantly encouraged me to finish my Bachelor’s degree and we have scrimped and saved over the last year to make that happen.  I’ll be finishing next April.  I finally figured out what I wanted to be when I grew up, and it required a Master’s degree.  He never questioned my ability to do it, only our ability to pay for it.  Now I’m applying to ALA accredited masters degree programs in Library and Information Science and he’s cheering me on every step of the way.

In preparation for grad school, I started reading everything I could find about libraries, librarians, digital initiatives and preservation, record management, and technological advances in libraries.  Many resources were telling me to get involved in the community and utilizing new technologies.  I got a Twitter account (be careful OCD and addictive personalities, Twitter is like a drug!) and started following the programs I was applying to as well as librarians in my vicinity and graduates from the programs.  Next thing I know, my husband is asking me how I got so many followers and I’m tutoring him on Twitter.

The next step was to start a blog.  So, here I am.  It is the 6th anniversary of my marriage to Scott Bulin who has encouraged me to do better and be better.  An auspicious day for new beginnings.

cmb

Leave a Reply

