Word on the street: Nook tablet


Cover of "Kindle Wireless Reading Device,...

Cover via Amazon

Barnes and Noble will be holding a press conference tomorrow.  The focus is rumored to be their new Nook Tablet. Ars Technica has an article about the possible announcements they will be making regarding it:

Nook Tablet rumor round-up: dual-core CPU, unfortunate battery life.

This is meant to compete with the iPad, Kindle Fire, and other tablets.  As the owner of a Kindle 3G and iPhone, I admit that a Nook would be my last resort for a tablet.  When I chose my Kindle it was after combing through reviews of Nook, Kobo, and Kindle as well as hands on trials at various local retailers.  Although I had reservations about the proprietary nature of Amazon’s Kindle, it fit my needs better than any of its competitors.

I don’t think either my husband or I will be getting a tablet anytime soon since we just got new laptops.  Once we get through Christmas and see what some of the post-holiday sales look like, then we might start seriously considering them.  This new tablet looks feature-rich, but my major reservation is with Barnes and Noble.  I have found that their customer service is, to put it mildly, lacking.

Following unresolved problems with an order that had been placed with them for a textbook (they are the authorized bookseller for my university) last year, I swore I would never do business with them again.  So far, I have been able to keep that vow by looking to the internet for my textbook needs and using the single independent bookstore in town whenever I can.  I’ll be watching the press releases and product reviews that will be coming soon for the Nook tablet.  Will I buy it from Barnes and Noble?  It’s highly unlikely, but if I find that there are features that are to die for, I may include those as must haves for future generations of tablets that I would consider for purchase.

The second question for me then is, do I really need a tablet?  I have an iPhone, a Kindle, and a Dell  XPS15.  What in the world could I do with a tablet that isn’t covered by those?  The gadget-geek in me says you can’t have too much, while the family budget says I could spend that money on more books.  I look forward to the press conference tomorrow and I’ll be closely following the evolution of tablets.

Leave a Reply

