Help me spend a week volunteering!


The University of Michigan’s School of Information gives students the opportunity to participate in an Alternative Spring Break (ASB).  This one week internship program creates the opportunity for students to engage in a service-oriented learning experience.  It connects students with non-profit, cultural, governmental, and K12 educational institutions through social impact projects.  Overall, ASB helps to enhance the relationship between the University and the greater community.

I’ll be volunteering my time and skills learned in graduate school for one week at the New York Public Library, Science, Industry, and Business Library (SIBL).  I’m part of team Information Access and Literacy.

 HOW DOES YOUR DONATION HELP?

What are our fundraising goals?

  • Total ASB Fundraising goal: $25,000
  • Team goal $5,000
  • Individual goal $500

Donating to ASB allows students, like me, an experience unlike most typical Spring Break vacations.  Between the connections made with working professionals and our involvement in practical real world projects, students are better equipped to enter the workplace and cause an immediate impact in any community we find ourselves.

I’m not asking you to shoulder the entire burden, I’m simply asking for any little bit you could afford to invest in my future.  I sincerely appreciate anything you could do to help and perhaps you’d also consider reposting my link and asking any friends or family to do the same.  If you prefer to donate cash or check, just contact me through Twitter or Facebook to make arrangements.

DONATE HERE!

Leave a Reply

