Cool Tool Spotlight – IrfanView


IrfanView

Click for larger image

IrfanView
http://www.irfanview.com/

I write posts about learning resources and great educational information for the Cool Toys U blog. I realized I should adopt this format when I have tech tools that work as well in my real life.

In their words:
“IrfanView is a very fast, small, compact and innovative FREEWARE (for non-commercial use) graphic viewer for Windows 9x, ME, NT, 2000, XP, 2003 , 2008, Vista, Windows 7, Windows 8.”

So for today, I’m going to take a look at IrfanView. This is a desktop app that I could not live without. You don’t need an expensive photo editor to do those things we all want to be able to do to our pictures on occasion. I use IrfanView for cropping, red-eye reduction, pixelization (to blur names for privacy), add text or call outs to a photo, resize, change format, and lots more.

Remote Control with hot spots

Click for Larger Image

Sorry Mac users. I have not yet found an equivalent program for my Mac, which is sometimes problematical if I don’t have my Windows machine with me. As it is I probably only use 30% of the available features for this program, but what I do use works seamlessly and is not difficult to learn if you aren’t familiar with the program. Pictured above is the photo effects menu which allows you to do all kinds of fun and crazy things to your photos or screenshots. Pictured here is a photo that I needed to edit recently for a class. I added the circles in different colors so I could talk about them in my homework assignment.

This is a great small program that does exactly what I need it to do and I miss it when I’m on my Mac.

Leave a Reply

