National Poetry Writing Month


April is National Poetry Writing Month (NaPoWriMo). As I get ever closer to graduation the last thing I want to do is add more to my plate, but I think this is worth it.

While I won’t have enough time to write an epic poem this month, my plan is to memorize one poem from a favorite author as well as write one (decent if not good) poem this month. I think I will be memorizing Sharon Olds poem about the Challenger Shuttle. I often recommend that poem to others so it would be worth it to be able to recite it on demand.

What I don’t have yet is a subject for my own poem. I have a lot of ideas brewing. Maybe I’ll write from the point of view of one of my female dwarves. What draws you to poetry? Are you planning to participate in NaPoWriMo?

Leave a Reply

