Just finished: Updraft by Fran Wilde


Here’s the blurb:

In a city of living bone rising high above the clouds, where danger hides in the wind and the ground is lost to legend, a young woman must expose a dangerous secret to save everyone she loves.

Welcome to a world of wind and bone, songs and silence, betrayal and courage.

My thoughts:

I started out reading this in audiobook and got about 30% through before I couldn’t take any more from the narrator. It was not her voice that bothered me but the pacing and breathlessness of it. While there were certain sections for which this style worked very well, in other places it just seemed wrong. So I switched to the ebook and didn’t look back.

The writing in this book is painfully good. Just judging from other books I have read that include flight, it is very hard to describe flight and aerial battle in a way that does not make the reader feel like a cameraman in a Michael Bay movie, but this book managed to do it. The cadence of the language also lent itself to the feel of the flight in the book. It was really masterfully done.

The story itself was heartfelt and clear if a little whiny sometimes, but, I mean, come on, we were all whiny when we were teenagers so I always expect some of that when the protagonist is a teen. I thought the reactions and misunderstandings between mother and daughter were particularly well done. That relationship felt very real to me and I hope it is explored more fully as the series continues.

I can’t wait to read the next book in the series when it is released next month. I would recommend this to anyone that enjoys a good adventure story with a little mystery. If you enjoy Sorcerer to the Crown I would suggest you check this one out.

Overall: 4 stars

Leave a Reply

